Kim Kardashian West Is Only the Fifth Most Followed Celeb of 2017

See who holds the top spot, plus, what the most popular Instagram Story filter of the year was.

By: Laurel Pantin

Embarrassing fact: I never made it past precalculus in math. After graduating high school, I vowed never to take another math course, and I didn’t. I hate math, but I love numbers and analytics—which is probably why I now work in digital media.

This morning, Instagram released the mother lode of analytics: their 2017 Year In Review, which looks at all the most mind-blowing data gathered from the app (like, eight of the ten most viewed videos of the year came from two soccer players) and helps us all see just how much of an influence the app plays in our everyday lives.

Check out the official Year In Review below.

 

Most-followed celebrities of 2017:

1. Selena Gomez (@selenagomez) – 130M+ Followers

2. Ariana Grande (@arianagrande) – 115M+ Followers

3. Cristiano Ronaldo (@cristiano) – 115M+ Followers

4. Beyoncé (@beyonce) – 108M+ Followers

5. Kim Kardashian West (@kimkardashian) – 104M+ Followers

6. Taylor Swift (@taylorswift) – 104M+ Followers

7. Kylie Jenner (@kyliejenner) – 99.5M+ Followers

8. Dwayne Johnson (@therock) – 96M+ Followers

9. Justin Bieber (@justinbieber) – 93.9M+ Followers

10. Kendall Jenner (@kendalljenner) – 84.8M+ Followers

 

Most-liked photos of 2017:

Beyoncé (@beyonce)

Cristiano Ronaldo (@cristiano)

Selena Gomez (@selenagomez)

Beyoncé (@beyonce)

Cristiano Ronaldo (@cristiano)

Selena Gomez (@selenagomez)

Selena Gomez (@selenagomez)

Cristian Ronaldo (@cristiano)

Selena Gomez (@selenagomez)

Selena Gomez (@selenagomez)

 

 

Most-liked celebrity videos of 2017:

 

1. Cristiano Ronaldo (@cristiano)


 

A post shared by Cristiano Ronaldo (@cristiano) on

 

2. Leo Messi (@leomessi)


 

A post shared by Leo Messi (@leomessi) on

 

3. Selena Gomez (@selenagomez)


 

A post shared by Selena Gomez (@selenagomez) on

 

4. Cristiano Ronaldo (@cristiano)


 

A post shared by Cristiano Ronaldo (@cristiano) on

 

5. Cristiano Ronaldo (@cristiano)


 

A post shared by Cristiano Ronaldo (@cristiano) on

 

6. Cristiano Ronaldo (@cristiano)


 

A post shared by Cristiano Ronaldo (@cristiano) on

 

7. Cristiano Ronaldo (@cristiano)


 

A post shared by Cristiano Ronaldo (@cristiano) on

 

8. Leo Messi (@leomessi)


 

A post shared by Leo Messi (@leomessi) on

 

9. Selena Gomez (@selenagomez)


 

A post shared by Selena Gomez (@selenagomez) on

 

10. Cristiano Ronaldo (@cristiano)


 

A post shared by Cristiano Ronaldo (@cristiano) on

 

Accounts with the Most-Viewed Instagram Stories of 2017

Methodology: Verified accounts with over 5 million followers who garnered the most views on Instagram Stories in 2017 (January 1 - present, global)

1. LeLe Pons (@lelepons)

2. Neymar Jr. (@neymarjr)

3. Olga Igorevna Buzov (@buzova86)

4. Kim Kardashian (@kimkardashian)

5. Amanda Cerny (@amandacerny)

6. Chiara Ferragni (@chiaraferragni)

7. Maluma (@maluma)

8. Anitta (@anitta)

9. Ariana Grande (@arianagrande)

10. Kourtney Kardashian (@kourtneykardash)

 

Top Hashtags of 2017:

1. #love
2. #fashion
3. #photooftheday
4. #photography
5. #art
6. #beautiful
7. #travel
8. #happy
9. #nature
10. #picoftheday

 

Most-Used Instagram Filters of 2017:

1. Clarendon
2. Gingham
3. Juno
4. Lark
5. Moon

 

2017’s Most-Used Instagram Stories Face Filters:

1. Puppy
2. Bunny
3. Koala
4. Genius
5. Love

 

Most-Instagrammed Cities of 2017:

New York, New York

Photo: Courtesy of Instagram/@jnsilva

Moscow, Russia

Photo: Courtesy of Instagram/@moscowmap

London, United Kingdom

Photo: Courtesy of Instagram/@antbuchet

Sao Paulo, Brazil

Photo: Courtesy of Instagram/@danielcamacho

Paris, France

Photo: Courtesy of Instagram/@vutheara

 

Most-Instagrammed Locations of 2017:

Disneyland, Anaheim, USA

Photo: Courtesy of Instagram/@bridget

Times Square, New York City, USA

Photo: Courtesy of Instagram/@nycafterdark

Central Park, New York City, USA

Photo: Courtesy of Instagram/@grimace_586

Tour Eiffel, Paris, France

Photo: Courtesy of Instagram/@twotrends

Tokyo Disney Resort, Tokyo, Japan

Photo: Courtesy of Instagram/@djc4l

 

Most-Followed Pets on Instagram in 2017:

1. Jiffpom (@jiffpom) – Pomeranian, US – 7M Followers

2. Nala (@nala_cat) – Cat, US – 3.5M Followers

3. Doug the Pug (@itsdougthepug) – Pug, US – 3M Followers

4. Shinjiro Ono (@marutaro) – Shiba Inu, JP – 2.6M Followers

5. Grumpy Cat (@realgrumpycat) – Cat, US – 2.4M Followers

 

Top photo: Courtesy of Instagram/@kimkardashian

 

Want more stories like this?

How to Break Instagram with Your Next Group Photo
How to Up Your Instagram Game (& Likes!) in 60 Seconds
The Most Epic Rainbow Beauty Moments from Instagram

“Getting Real”

We’re taking an honest look at love, life, and all the things that come with being an adult.

LEARN MORE
×